252511 Physiotherapist: APC Skills Assessment, the New Fees from 21 October 2026, and Your Visa Options

Overseas-trained physiotherapists can't go straight to the Australian Physiotherapy Council's migration skills assessment: they need a Final Certificate first, through APEP, FLYR or Express FLYR, and those fees rise on 21 October 2026. Here's which pathway fits you, every fee, Ahpra registration and the routes to the 189, 190, 491, 482, 186 and 494.
Published On
October 16, 2026
Written By
Gurraj Gondara

Gurraj Gondara

Registered Migration Agent.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Thank you for your submission!

Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.
Share this post

Physiotherapist, ANZSCO 252511, is assessed for migration by the Australian Physiotherapy Council (APC), and it's on the lists for every main skilled and employer-sponsored visa. There's a catch. It's the order of steps. Unless you qualified in Australia or New Zealand, or have worked as a registered physiotherapist in New Zealand for at least 2 years, you can't apply for the Council's migration skills assessment yet. You first need its Final Certificate, which comes from one of three pathways, and the fees for those pathways rise on 21 October 2026.

Your migration skills assessment fee stays at $1,674. That's not where the money goes. For most overseas physiotherapists, the pathway before it costs the time and most of the fees.

Planning your route as an overseas-trained physio? Book a consultation before you pay the eligibility fee.

Can you apply for the skills assessment straight away?

Probably not. The Council's eligibility rules for the migration skills assessment require you to meet Ahpra's English language registration standard for physiotherapists, and to have one of the following:

  • an Australian physiotherapy qualification on the Physiotherapy Board of Australia's approved programs list
  • a New Zealand accredited physiotherapy qualification, plus a current, unconditional New Zealand practising certificate
  • a current, unconditional New Zealand practising certificate plus at least 2 years of unconditional work as a physiotherapist in New Zealand
  • the Council's own Final Certificate
Your situation What the Council asks you to do first
Physiotherapy degree from an approved Australian or accredited New Zealand program Apply straight for the skills assessment (New Zealand graduates also need a current, unconditional New Zealand practising certificate)
Current, unconditional New Zealand practising certificate and at least 2 years of unconditional physiotherapy work in New Zealand Apply straight for the skills assessment
From Canada, the United Kingdom, Ireland, Hong Kong or South Africa (subject to the Council's eligibility check) Complete the Express FLYR Pathway to get a Final Certificate, then apply for the skills assessment
From the Netherlands, Singapore, Sweden, or Texas, Massachusetts or California in the United States (subject to the Council's eligibility check) Complete the FLYR Pathway to get a Final Certificate, then apply for the skills assessment
Anyone else with at least a diploma-level overseas physiotherapy qualification and unrestricted registration in the country of training Complete the Australian Physiotherapy Entry Pathway (APEP) to get a Final Certificate, then apply for the skills assessment

An Interim Certificate isn't enough, the Council says plainly. Neither is an overseas degree on its own, however good.

The APC pathways and what they cost

Assessment Fee until 20 October 2026 Fee from 21 October 2026 Council's estimated time
Express FLYR Pathway (eligibility assessment and cultural safety training) $1,650 $1,742 3 weeks
FLYR Pathway (eligibility, cultural safety training and written assessment) $3,422 $3,490 Not stated
APEP: eligibility assessment $1,170 $1,170 3 weeks
APEP: cultural safety training $235 $242 Not stated
APEP: written assessment $2,017 $2,078 Not stated
APEP: capability assessment $2,928 $2,928 Not stated
APEP: clinical workshop $1,464 $1,903 Not stated
APEP in total $7,814 $8,321 About 9 months for candidates who progress as quickly as possible
Skills assessment for a permanent or skilled regional visa $1,674 $1,674 (unchanged) 8 to 10 weeks
Additional skills assessment $1,471 $1,471 (no change announced) Not stated
Internal review $585 $603 Not stated

APEP is the pathway most overseas physios will use, because Express FLYR and FLYR are limited to a handful of countries. APEP runs through an eligibility assessment, cultural safety training, a written assessment, a 1.5-hour online oral capability assessment and a one-day clinical workshop in Melbourne. Expect about 9 months, by the Council's estimate, if you move through it as quickly as possible.

If you're about to start any pathway, timing matters this week. Current prices apply until 20 October 2026, and the new ones from 21 October. Every pathway stage goes up except the APEP eligibility assessment and the capability assessment, and the Council says the skills assessment fee isn't changing.

Registration is a separate step from the visa

A Final Certificate is the Council's sign-off that you meet the Australian standard. To actually work as a physiotherapist, you then need general registration from Ahpra, which the Council says can be obtained after you finish your pathway and receive the Final Certificate. Limited registration lets you work under supervision while you're still progressing through the Council's pathway.

Your visa skills assessment sits alongside that. You don't need to show work experience for it unless you're claiming skilled employment points, and the Council suggests waiting until you've finished the years you want to claim before you apply. Adding qualifications or work experience after you've had an outcome means an Additional Skills Assessment, currently $1,471.

Worked example: for a physiotherapist trained in a country not on either FLYR list, the route is APEP at $8,321 from 21 October 2026, which the Council estimates takes about 9 months at the fastest. The $1,674 skills assessment follows, at 8 to 10 weeks. That's $9,995 in Council fees before any visa charge, and close to a year before a skilled visa application can be lodged.

Where a positive assessment takes you

Visa Is 252511 on its list? Assessing authority
Skilled Independent (subclass 189) Yes, Medium and Long-term Strategic Skills List Australian Physiotherapy Council
Skilled Nominated (subclass 190) and Skilled Work Regional (subclass 491) Yes, Medium and Long-term Strategic Skills List, plus the state's own list Australian Physiotherapy Council
Skills in Demand (subclass 482), Core Skills stream Yes, Core Skills Occupation List, no caveats Not set by the list
Employer Nomination Scheme (subclass 186) Yes, Core Skills Occupation List, no caveats Australian Physiotherapy Council
Skilled Employer Sponsored Regional (subclass 494) Yes, the 494's Medium and Long-term Strategic Skills List Australian Physiotherapy Council

Physiotherapist is invited regularly, though at higher scores than, say, the construction trades. In the Department's June 2026 SkillSelect data, most invited Physiotherapist expressions of interest for the Skilled Independent (subclass 189) showed 80 points, and most for the Skilled Nominated (subclass 190) showed 85. Smaller numbers were invited at other scores, which the Department doesn't publish, and the invitation rounds are not a fixed cut-off. July showed the same pattern. There's no clear band in the Department's data for the Skilled Work Regional (subclass 491), because every invited cell was suppressed. Our points calculator shows how far you are from those scores.

Points that high make the employer-sponsored routes worth a serious look. Physiotherapist is on the Core Skills Occupation List for the Skills in Demand (subclass 482) and the Employer Nomination Scheme (subclass 186), with no caveats, and on the list for the Skilled Employer Sponsored Regional (subclass 494).

It's also a healthcare occupation under Ministerial Direction 122, which puts it in the first group for the order visa applications are picked up, and nothing more. States add their own layer. In the ACT's 12 October 2026 invitation round, the minimum Canberra Matrix score reached for physiotherapists was 65 for Canberra residents and 80 for overseas applicants. ACT says that minimum is an indication only. Our registered nurse post covers the same healthcare priority for nurses.

Whichever visa you choose, start the Council's pathway first. It's the longest step, and the visa can't begin until it ends.

FAQ

Is physiotherapy on the PR list in Australia?

Yes. Physiotherapist, ANZSCO 252511, is on the Medium and Long-term Strategic Skills List used for the permanent 189 and 190 visas and the provisional 491, and on the Core Skills Occupation List for the permanent 186. The Australian Physiotherapy Council is the assessing authority.

Can a physiotherapist get a 482 visa in Australia?

Yes. Physiotherapist is on the Core Skills Occupation List for the subclass 482 Skills in Demand visa, with no caveats. You still need an approved employer nomination, at least 12 months of relevant work in the last 5 years, and general registration from Ahpra to work as a physiotherapist in Australia.

What is the cost of an APC skills assessment?

The Australian Physiotherapy Council's skills assessment for a permanent or skilled regional visa costs $1,674, and an additional skills assessment costs $1,471. The Council says the skills assessment fee isn't changing on 21 October 2026, but most overseas physios must first complete APEP, FLYR or Express FLYR, and those fees are rising.

What is the APC exam in Australia?

It's the assessment stages of the Australian Physiotherapy Council's pathways. APEP includes an eligibility assessment, cultural safety training, a written assessment, a 1.5-hour online oral capability assessment and a one-day clinical workshop in Melbourne. FLYR includes the written assessment, and Express FLYR has no exam beyond eligibility and training.

Can I use an Indian BPT for physiotherapy in Australia?

It can be the starting point. An overseas physiotherapy qualification of at least diploma level, together with unrestricted registration in the country where you trained, meets the Australian Physiotherapy Council's criteria to apply for APEP. India isn't on the FLYR or Express FLYR lists, so APEP is the pathway to the Council's Final Certificate.

Do physiotherapists need to be registered with Ahpra?

Yes. The Australian Physiotherapy Council says general registration from Ahpra is required to work as a physiotherapist in Australia. You can apply for it after completing the Council's assessment pathway and receiving the Final Certificate. Limited registration allows supervised work while you're still progressing through the pathway.

What are the requirements for immigrating to Australia as a physiotherapist?

You need a positive skills assessment from the Australian Physiotherapy Council for the 189, 190 or 491. For most overseas-trained physios that needs the Council's Final Certificate first, plus the visa's points, age and English requirements. Employer-sponsored routes such as the 482 and 494 aren't points-tested and need an approved employer nomination instead.

‍

Want your APC pathway and visa route planned together? Book a consultation. Our skills assessment service covers the Council's steps and the visa side.


Work with us.

Share your requirements with us, and we'll take care of everything from start to finish, ensuring a seamless experience.

Contact Us

Explore related posts.

​
View All Articles
Occupations
Immigration Tips
skill assessment
October 19, 2026
394111 Cabinetmaker (394112 Cabinet Maker): TRA Skills Assessment, Code Differences and Visa Options
Cabinetmaker is ANZSCO 394111 on the lists for the 189, 190, 491 and 494, but Cabinet Maker 394112 on the lists for the 482 and 186. Here's why the code changes, which TRA program applies to you, what it costs and where a positive outcome takes you.
​
Read this article
Occupations
Immigration Tips
skill assessment
October 19, 2026
331211 Carpenter and Joiner and 331213 Joiner: TRA Skills Assessment and Visa Options
Carpenter and Joiner (ANZSCO 331211) and Joiner (ANZSCO 331213) are TRA trades on the 189, 190, 491, 482, 186 and 494 lists, with slightly different rules from Carpenter. Here's which TRA program applies to you, what it costs, how the codes differ and where a positive outcome takes you.
​
Read this article
Occupations
Immigration Tips
skill assessment
October 16, 2026
252511 Physiotherapist: APC Skills Assessment, the New Fees from 21 October 2026, and Your Visa Options
Overseas-trained physiotherapists can't go straight to the Australian Physiotherapy Council's migration skills assessment: they need a Final Certificate first, through APEP, FLYR or Express FLYR, and those fees rise on 21 October 2026. Here's which pathway fits you, every fee, Ahpra registration and the routes to the 189, 190, 491, 482, 186 and 494.
​
Read this article